Fucking Writing . . . .

I’ve been pretty happy with my posting rate over here lately.  I managed not to let this thing die, and getting to talk about some of the things I have recently has been good for me.  What else is there?

There’s plenty else. See, I’ve wanted to write fiction for a long time.  I actually did write regularly for a while, and had a longer thing I was getting notes together for.  Then some of the real-life past I’ve been talking about intervened and almost all of it ended up being burned.  Most of the years in between have seen me not even trying – just giving up and finding other things to do.  It’s still there, though, and is especially hard to ignore now that I’m used to sitting down and typing regularly.  What to do?  How about whining?

1) “I don’t have any ideee-yahs!”  No, not a problem.  I have too many actually.  It’s probably like when you get over a certain number of children and they all want attention at once.  I imagine it’s even more overwhelming when they’re all screaming at you in real life and not just in your mind.

2) “I don’t have any tiiiiime!”  Got me there!  I have a bit of a shortage.  But not too much.  I can manage an hour a day, right?

3) “I just wasted an hour and a half on that?”  Yeah.  I’m a slow typist.  And the thing about rough drafts is they’re . . . rough.  Get over it.

4) “Can’t I just keep going and not sleep?”  No.  Not if you’re me. Save it and come back.

5) “So I have to do that all over again tomorrow even though I’ll just want to fix everything from today and then end up getting frustrated and say ‘Fuck it’ and want to move on to something else?”  Yes.  That’s how you end up with an entire draft – and THEN you get to fix it.

6) “But it needs to be fixed now!  I just used the same word like five times in one paragraph!”  Draft first.  Then a Thesaurus.  Then fix it.

7) “I’m tired now.”  Well good, it’s nearly bedtime.

Fucking writing.

2 Responses to “Fucking Writing . . . .”

  1. J. Wilson Says:

    that was fucking great

  2. I’m feeling the same frustration as I type this. Three drafts, an entire week of editing and 1 post

Leave a Reply

